Asean Trade In Goods Agreement (Atiga) (Form D)

In line with the trade facilitation efforts of the World Trade Organization, ASEAN has placed trade facilitation at the heart of its commitment to market integration. Earlier this year, ASEAN economic ministers announced their goal of reducing THE TRANSACTION COSTS OF ASEAN trade by 10% by 2020. Together with other trade facilitation initiatives, such as the establishment of the ASEAN Trade Repository, the ASEAN Tariff Finder and the ASEAN Solutions for Investments, Services and Trade (ASSIST), the implementation of e-ATIGA Form D aims to facilitate activities in the region and is certainly a welcome step towards an integrated ASEAN domestic market. On January 5, 2018, the General Department of Customs Vietnam (GDC) issued Official Letter No. 78 to officially accept the Electronic Certificate of Origin (eC/S). Exporters from Indonesia, Malaysia, Singapore and Thailand can export goods to Vietnam, with eC/S taking effect on 1 January 2018. The ASEAN Agreement on Trade in Goods was signed on 26 February 2009 and is the result of the expansion and consolidation of all existing provisions of the CEPT-AFTA Agreement and the relevant ASEAN economic agreements and instruments. Singapore also accepts the e-ATIGA Form D from 1 January 2018. For the handling and handling of goods throughout Singapore, the E-ATIGA D form issued by the first exporting AMS is also allowed for D-shaped back-to-back applications in Singapore. This allowance is subject to three conditions: 1) the e-ATIGA form D must be issued on or after 1 January 2018; 2) the goods must come from an SSA ready to be exchanged; and 3) the E-ATIGA D form must have been successfully received by this AMS in TradeNet®.

In order to facilitate trade, the AMS signed in September 2015 the Protocol on the Legal Framework for the Implementation of the ASEAN Single Window. The ASW initiative aims to improve trade facilitation by simplifying customs clearance procedures and reducing freight shipping and unblocking times through an integrated platform of partnerships between government authorities and end-users, including economic, transport and logistics companies. Under the ASW initiative, participating countries agreed to introduce electronic submission of Form D in order to simplify and speed up registration procedures and thereby improve trade efficiency and competitiveness among participating countries. Unless otherwise provided, ASEAN Member States (AMS) are removing import duties on all products traded between SSAs until (a) 2010 for ASEAN-6 (Brunei, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Singapore and Thailand) and (b) flexibly until 2018 for CLMV (Cambodia, Laos, Myanmar and Vietnam). On 23 August 2007, the 21st AFTA Council agreed to withdraw the CEPT-AFTA Agreement with a view to a comprehensive trade agreement for AFTA. To submit an E-ATIGA D form, the exporter must first be registered with Singapore Customs to access TradeNet. There is no change to the application procedure for Form D in TradeNet. However, the applicant must then have access to the authorized Form D in the TradeNet Backend to authorize and trigger the transmission of the Form E-ATIGA D to the importing country through the ASW. In order for a product to qualify for a customs concession under ATIGA, the following conditions must be met: Malaysian exporters can now apply for Form D online via the Electronic Certificate of Preferential Origin («ePCO»). .